It all started when I was a child. My home life behind closed doors wasn’t quite what you saw on the outside. Everything was with condition. I had to do this to get that. I had to earn everything from love to material things. From my childhood perspective love was with condition.

God’s word says this:

Romans 12:9-21

9 Don’t just pretend to love others. Really love them. Hate what is wrong. Hold tightly to what is good. 10 Love each other with genuine affection, and take delight in honoring each other. 11 Never be lazy, but work hard and serve the Lord enthusiastically. 12 Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying. 13 When God’s people are in need, be ready to help them. Always be eager to practice hospitality.

14 Bless those who persecute you. Don’t curse them; pray that God will bless them. 15 Be happy with those who are happy, and weep with those who weep. 16 Live in harmony with each other. Don’t be too proud to enjoy the company of ordinary people. And don’t think you know it all!

17 Never pay back evil with more evil. Do things in such a way that everyone can see you are honorable. 18 Do all that you can to live in peace with everyone.

19 Dear friends, never take revenge. Leave that to the righteous anger of God. For the Scriptures say,

“I will take revenge;
I will pay them back,”
says the Lord.

20 Instead,

“If your enemies are hungry, feed them.
If they are thirsty, give them something to drink.
In doing this, you will heap burning coals of shame on their heads.”

21 Don’t let evil conquer you, but conquer evil by doing good.

Going to church; attending vacation bible school and youth group meetings. We simply mimicked what we saw the adults do. We had our little rituals of corporate devotions and prayer. None of the devotions ever taught me unconditional love. Love was one of those secret subjects that rarely was spoken. Reaching adulthood made me a confused person. Because going to church as an adult in a different community of people not really knowing me spoke love all over me. They loved up on me. That scared me because it wasn’t the same kind of love I was used to. It took some getting used to. However, there’s those times when I was showing love, what I thought was love, and it wasn’t being returned. It’s because I needed to learn the right kind of love, from God.

My blog friend Suzie posted about this love… You can read about it here. And she also has a follow up post from one of her readers. You can read that here.

The point of the whole thing is that God’s love is intentional. He loves with a love without question. How can I not love Him back? I do love Him… I hunger for Him. I seek Him.

Sometimes I slip into taking for granted my faith. I get a nice reminder that I need to get back into His word. I need to pray. I need live like I’m loved. It’s getting easier. Easier because I do seek and hunger for Him.

What about you?

Prayer: Dear Lord Father God, I lift up anyone who comes here to be blessed by Your word and convicted to fall to their knees repenting and seeking forgiveness of false love. I pray in thanking You that Your love is unconditional and without question. I pray that this message will reach those who need it. I praise You and love You Father God. In Jesus’ name, amen.

