I accepted Jesus as my Savior at a young age. However, I didn’t have a good example or mentorship to know what was happening or what to do. This is the case with many new believers.

I was 8 years old. My family didn’t attend church. Each Sunday a church van would come through the neighborhood and pick up kids to go to church. A few times our Catholic neighbors invited me to attend church with them. I remember thinking how different each environment was than the other at each church.

At home I remember Mom having a bible set up like a shrine in the living room. She also had a Mary mother of Jesus statue. We weren’t allowed to touch stuff until we did chores and cleaning. All we were allowed to do it clean it/dust it off. I remember one Christmas (I think I was 12 years old) I got my very first KJV leather bound, with zipper to close it up, Holy Bible. It even had my name on it. The leather was white and the embossed letters were gold. I was so excited. The mystery was being lifted about “The Holy Bible”. My mother said it was identical to the one she had. I never saw her open it. I remember when I was there alone I would sneak and open hers once in a while just to look at it. I remember thinking how pretty the fancy pictures were inside it. Mine didn’t have all the same pictures as Mom’s did. But, mine had maps! I LOVE MAPS! I wore that bible out using it over the next 15 years. I’ve worn out 3 other bibles since then as well. Now we have electronic versions. I have a bible on my android mobile phone (I still have a hard copy, leather bound, NKJV Bible). What’s so great about the electronic version is you can investigate many different translations, in many languages, with the electronic version. There’s one that fast becoming the quite popular. It’s linked to my scripture below.

In October 1976, my family moved across country to live in a new place. My step-father’s family quickly became our family. My Aunt would invite us to church each Sunday. I was already to go. When I went to school I made some friends. Each friend invited me to whatever church they attended. I visited. After my parents found a house to buy and we moved into that house I made some new neighborhood friends. I made friends with some people who attended a church that was practically in our backyard. One friend invited me to attend. On the next Sunday I went. I quickly found that I really liked this church and the youth that attended. I continued to attend there. For the next two and a half years the Lord worked on my heart. When I was almost 15 years old the church had a revival one week. I sat in the pew and listened intently. It was the very first revival I’d ever experienced. When it came time for the invitation I simply busted… It felt as if I floated to the alter. I knelt there weeping. Some people touched me and prayed. I was elated. God’s word says in:

Colossians 2:6-12
6 And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow him. 7 Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.

8 Don’t let anyone capture you with empty philosophies and high-sounding nonsense that come from human thinking and from the spiritual powers of this world, rather than from Christ. 9 For in Christ lives all the fullness of God in a human body.t 10 So you also are complete through your union with Christ, who is the head over every ruler and authority.

11 When you came to Christ, you were “circumcised,” but not by a physical procedure. Christ performed a spiritual circumcision—the cutting away of your sinful nature. 12 For you were buried with Christ when you were baptized. And with him you were raised to new life because you trusted the mighty power of God, who raised Christ from the dead.

You see, I had a lot that needed to be cut away. About a month after I went to the alter the church did a baptismal in a nearby river. I was the first on the list to get baptized. When I came up from under the water all the past was buried and washed away. I was given a “new life”. You can too!

The thing is you see… metaphorically speaking, mentally the old life was still stuck with me. I had wounds and scars that tormented me for many years. It affected my marriages. My first marriage I simply couldn’t meet anyone’s needs. I read and prayed and searched truth. I simply didn’t have the leadership I needed to go to for help. I was stuck in the miry muck of my past. It was like a rubbery glue. I could move but I was still stuck in it. I’m sure there’s a great deal of you who have had your own similar experience.

In 2009, I was 45 years old. It took 37 years for me to finally be freed from that miry muck. You can read here what took place. God gave me and my husband (my 2nd husband, Paul) a massive miracle (at this point we’d been married 10 1/2 years). It has many sides. Needless to say, our marriage is not the same as it was before that miracle. We’re both different people now. We’ve been rebuilding our lives and marriage since. It’s been all a blessing. We have our arguments. We have our discussions. They are good. We don’t end up in an all out mental battle… which by the way… is a spiritual battle. That’s how the enemy wants us/you. It gives the enemy the upper hand, because, it leaves us open for attack. You must protect yourself from the enemy. You ask, how do I do that? Well, this is how:

  1. Pray
    a. Open yourself up to God. Talk to Him. Talk to him just like you would a friend sitting next to you. He will comfort you.
    b. In some of my prayer times I had a mentor who was spiritually mature. In prayer we would bind up the enemy and cast him away in Jesus’ name. This can get a ugly and weary because it’s spiritual battle. However, it’s quite effective.
  2. Read/Study God’s word
    a. This is where it helps to attend Bible studies and/or small group studies.
    b. Find scripture that’s God’s promises that speak to your heart. Post them up around you in your home, i.e. bathroom mirror. Refrigerator. Sun visor in your car. On your computer desktop. Scriptures are quite profitable.
  3. Get with another spiritually mature woman/man [whichever the case may be].
    a. You must be vulnerable and transparent to be able to receive the help you need. This is how masks and walls come down and cleansing of the miry muck happens.
    b. Single or married, this works well. Because singles have relationships too.
  4. Get in fellowship with a Bible teaching, preaching and believing church.
    a. God’s word talks about fellowship. It feeds the soul. Being surrounded by God’s family will recharge you. By allowing the Holy Spirit to wash over you and soak your being will fill You with the love of God.

Those are four basic things that will get you on the right track.

Prayer: Dear Father God, Yeshua, I lift up the reader right now to You and ask that their heart and mind be comforted in YOU. I pray that they will seek You more and more each day. Father God, I ask for their soul/heart/mind be cleansed of the miry muck so that they could come to Your feet at the throne and leave all their cares and concerns with you. Taking away their burdens so that they can see You for who You really are. I praise and thank You LORD God for loving me more than enough to care for me, just like I know you will for the reader. Thank You for the song in my heart and the love You give to me and the reader. Show the reader the way LORD. I thank You in advance for hearing and answering my prayer. In Yeshua’s name, amen.

