We typically hear people use the phrase, “he/she is carrying a lot of baggage”. That baggage is basically referring to trash. In Melanie’s post at What Matters Most: Don’t Take the Trash Down the Mountain, she refers to trash, meaning baggage and wicked ways being that trash. Melanie references this scripture:

Psalm 139:23-24
23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
Try me, and know my anxieties;
24 And see if there is any wicked way in me,
And lead me in the way everlasting.

Prior to August 2009 I was dragging along with me, bags of trash from my past life using them as excuses for my attitudes and behaviors, giving me license to being wicked. Wicked is defined in one sense as: Cursed; baneful; hurtful; bad; destructive; dangerous. Synonyms for wicked that apply are: unjust; atrocious; sinful. My husband used to call me a curmudgeon. I thought he was joking me. But, later I realized it wasn’t a joke.

In my wicked ways I used my excuses and blamed everyone else. I was putting the responsibility on others. It’s their fault, they can fix it! Right? Wrong!

With negative attitudes, baggage/trash, our marriages become stinky, nasty, vile things. It will fester until it comes to a head. One day bursting with pain and anger. It happened to me in my marriage that August in 2009. It was so painful I felt hopeless at one point. God allowed us to hit rock bottom and then threw us a rescue line.

Are you at that point? God’s rescue line has been tossed. Are you reaching for it? As it says in Psalm 139, search me, O God, and know my heart, try me and know my anxieties. I’ll take v.24 a step further here, put yourself in this scripture, find the wicked in me, and take me to the way of eternity.

Let go of the trash and leave it. It’s no good to you. Feel the grace and mercy of God’s presence wash over you and soak in you. Let HIM cleanse away the stench of trash and make things new and fresh.

Dear Father Yahweh, in Heaven, I lift up the reader to You and pray that they can see Your rescue line and grab onto it and allow You to pull them up from the trash heap and be renewed in You. I pray that Your grace and mercy will give the reader peace with Your grace and mercy. Thank You in advance for hearing and answering my prayer. In the Messiah’s, Yeshua’s, name, amen!

