Marriage: Grow in unity or apart?
Mature and Endure | The Resurgence

We tend to get trapped. It’s easy to go our separate ways and do our own thing. We are rarely on the same page with regard to our faith and beliefs. Once we’re trapped in the singleness mentality it’s hard to get out.

I like how Pastor Phil Schmitt shares about his own marriage in the link above. He talks about the age levels of growth.

“Just like a growing child, our marriage has gone through many phases in 18 years: newborn adjustment, taking our first shaky steps, toddler temper tantrums, the “reasonableness” of a 5-year-old, the sharp learning curve of a 4th grader, and the identity struggles, legalism, and narcissism of a teenager.”

For many it’s just too hard for them to endure through these stages of growth. They opt out. They get divorced. When there are children involved it’s not that easy. There’s still interaction. They tend to struggle through that too.

God never promises it was going to be easy. See John 16:33: I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”

God instructs married couples to love one another. Even in our vows we say in the marriage ceremony: “In sickness and in health, for better or for worse, to honor and cherish; in wealth or in poverty; until death do we do part.”

Staying in infancy only places our marriage among childishness. Thinking of the behaviors associated with the young makes me cringe. Not maturing indicates some serious mental dysfunction between the couple. All we have to do is look at the tabloids to see what this does to marriage.

Growing up. We must. If we want to have a lasting relationship with God at the helm we are to search out God and His Word to guide us. We must be accountable to the Holy Spirits prompting.

I know for myself I’ve fallen prey to the mess of immaturity in my marriage. When we allow the “me” mentality to take over we become spoiled temper tantrum throwing toddlers. This leads to nothing but turmoil. We fell hard. God scooped us up. Loved us. We surrendered. The Holy Spirit showed us grace like I’ve never experienced before.

We forget it’s not about us. It’s ALL about God!

In one book I read some time ago I learned that all of life is a test of our faith. It helps us become better characters in Christ. When we remove “me” and replace it with “God” we see things from a different perspective. God’s word tells HE doesn’t see things as we humans do. His timing is not our timing.

Acknowledge the Holy Spirit’s leading and allow your marriage to mature in unity with God. Remove “me” and replace it with God.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly God, Father Yahweh, I lift up my friends and my own marriage to YOU and seek Your guidance in having a Godly marriage that will honor and glorify You. Help us to remove “me” and put YOU. Thank You for the blessings of Your grace, hope and mercy to guide us. In the name of The Messiah, Yeshua, amen.

