We wake up each day and expect to have a great day. To have great relationships.

Then, BOOM! We encounter someone who really rubs us the wrong way. Immediately, an emotional response. In our mind we’re ripping this person a new one. We’re running through all these scenarios in our mind of what we would like to do to this person.

The person senses my awkwardness of the moment and sees anger in my eyes. The person immediately becomes defensive and does something to further push my buttons.

Step back and think about what’s happening. Why such hostility and animosity?

Proverbs 17:22 says:
A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength.
Ecclesiastes 7:9 also says:
Don’t be quick-tempered, for anger is the friend of fools.

I become weak and a fool when I am hostile. Weak minded.

My blog friend, Suzie Eller, posted this today:
“Walking in a new direction: a defensive move”

I now see things in a new light. I have a new defense. Honestly, I already knew I was supposed to do it this way. I was stubborn and sinful. Unwilling because I felt it wasn’t my fault. Fault.

Everyone, including me, says, “it’s not my fault.” We need to own up to our emotions and take responsibility for ourselves. Don’t waste the energy trying to blame everyone else. Allow the LORD to break the hardness around your heart. Allow HIM to soften you up. Show kindness, love and care.

Once I let down my guard and allowed God to soften my heart I changed. The animosity and hostility melted away. I simply showed love and kindness that flows from God. I’m not the judge.

Don’t take everything personally. People around you will seem different in a good way.

