“Imitation keeps Jesus as the goal. Idolatry makes being like that person the goal.”Trisha Wilkerson

“If you are imitators of God as dear children, your adoration will be proved to be sincere.” Charles Spurgeon

Are You Imitating or Idolizing?

It’s time for some reevaluating! A time to reflect. What am I reflecting though? After reading the linked article by Trish Wilkerson I was convicted. I realized that I’d been idolizing Godly women in my life.

I crossed a line I didn’t even realize existed. A line that was invisible to me. It’s a huge red line now. The only way I will cross it is if I totally ignore it and blatantly disobey God.

My guide is the Bible, God’s Word. As Trish mentions in her article, the Bible has plenty of Godly examples for me. The Biblical models have the examples of what a Godly woman is. I simply need to look in the mirror and know that I’m a reflection of GOD. And so do each one of you, ladies.

1 Corinthians 4:15-17
15
For even if you had ten thousand others to teach you about Christ, you have only one spiritual father. For I became your father in Christ Jesus when I preached the Good News to you. 16 So I urge you to imitate me.
17 That’s why I have sent Timothy, my beloved and faithful child in the Lord. He will remind you of how I follow Christ Jesus, just as I teach in all the churches wherever I go.
1 Corinthians 11:1
And you should imitate me, just as I imitate Christ.
Ephesians 5:1-2
1 Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do, because you are his dear children. 2 Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. He loved us and offered himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God.

Prayer: Dear Father God, I lift up all the women in my life, real and online, that we would be imitators of You, not each other. In Yeshua, the Messiah’s name, amen.

