Linked here… Praying Wife… is Lysa TerKeurst’s post for today.

I’m touched by it… in more ways than one. I suspect you are as well. Take a moment and click on over and read it. It’s not long. It’s over at Proverbs31.org. Come back when your finished.

I recall all too often praying that God would change all the things about my husband I felt weren’t Biblical. It’s our sinful selfishness dictating our lives. I read in Oswald Chamber’s devotion today:

“The only test we should use to determine whether or not to allow a particular emotion to run its course in our lives is to examine what the final outcome of that emotion will be. Think it through to its logical conclusion, and if the outcome is something that God would condemn, put a stop to it immediately. But if it is an emotion that has been kindled by the Spirit of God and you don’t allow it to have its way in your life, it will cause a reaction on a lower level than God intended.”

My judgment had become clouded by my emotions and selfishness. Deep down, we know if it’s something God wouldn’t approve of. Once the fog clears, we realize.

I turned the focus on me… I prayed for the change in me. I prayed for my own healing. I prayed that I would be a Godly wife. It didn’t come immediately or automagically. It took time, and it’s never finished. It’s always a work in progress.

Always be humble, gentle and patient, bearing with one another in love. -Ephesians 4:2

As the verse says: always. The reward comes.

Prayer: “Father God, I lift up the wives of the world. I pray they seek YOU in all they do. I pray for them to seek Your strength and wisdom to be Your Godly daughter first and foremost. In the name of Yeshua, The Messiah, AMEN.”

