Are You Listening?

Link above is an article at Family Life Today, written by Dave Boehi, about listening skills between husband and wife. I think this could work for children and parents as well. Read it. It’s not long. I’ll wait. Meet me back here when you finish.

Welcome back!

The reason why I’m sharing this is because I believe communication and listening skills are a major hindrance in relationships.

God’s Word tells us:

  • My dear brothers and sisters, be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry. James 1:19

Here’s an example out of my own life.

  • Yesterday, my husband decided to make breakfast burritos. He didn’t ask for my help. I started smelling burnt food and inhaling smoke. I looked around to the kitchen to see smoke in there. I got up and went to see what was going on. He was standing there preparing more stuff to use. I mentioned that he was burning the food in the skillet and suggested he turn the heat down. I turned on the overhead exhaust fan and then the exhaust fan in the bathroom near the kitchen to pull the smoke out. Windows were already open. When I suggested he turn the heat down on the stove, he didn’t. So, I did. He proceeded to yell at me. I told him burned food wasn’t good. He reacted defensively and was muttering silliness. He also muttered something about me helping him. I offered. He told me to leave the kitchen there was nothing for me to do. Well… that in and of itself was rude, in my opinion. And I told him so. And then I left the kitchen. He served the burned food. I ate it anyway, out of respect for him making it. Later, I had an upset stomach and severe acid reflux. I told him about it. He will never remember the discussion. For some reason he has a bad memory. For real.

It’s very hard to resolve something when someone simply forgets it. Because, later, it arises again… It’s difficult at best. Sometimes I feel like I’m living in that movie… “Ground Hog Day”.

So, the best way to handle things is to take them to the LORD and trust HIM to help you resolve whatever is going on AND be creatively constructive and pro-active when approaching your spouse or other relationships. Be the example when they approach you. Be an active listener.

What is an active listen you say? Click here, and read. And then watch this 3.5 minute video:

Prayer: Dear Father God, speak to our hearts and help us to be better communicators and listeners with each other. In the name of Yeshua The Messiah, amen.

