Description of video post: Setting healthy boundaries is important to protect your marriage.

1 Corinthians 7:14(NLT) For the Christian wife brings holiness to her marriage, and the Christian husband brings holiness to his marriage. Otherwise, your children would not be holy, but now they are holy.

Hebrews 13:4(NLT) Give honor to marriage, and remain faithful to one another in marriage. God will surely judge people who are immoral and those who commit adultery.

I’ve been watching LifeChurch.tv with Pastor Craig Groeschel now for a few years. Dr. Kim Kimberling, a professional counselor for over twenty years. He holds a Ph.D. in Christian Counseling and a Doctor of Ministry in Christian Counseling. He also holds a Masters Degree in Christian Ministry and a Master in Theological Studies. He is President and co-founder of Family Christian Counseling in Oklahoma City, created I Want An Awesome Marriage [http://iwantanawesomemarriage.com/] to compliment his work with LifeChurch.tv.

The video spoke to me because in today’s society it is too easy to get caught up in external relationships outside of a marriage. Just like Lindsey & Matt mention in the video about work places and co-workers, things can start out very innocently between people. Then, meeting together or doing work together that is not in a group or public setting sets the stage for more private conversations and activities that lead to wrong activity. Also, with social network media outlets. Private messages and chats are not a good way to handle communicating unless it’s to set up business appointment that you don’t want publicized. But, the appointment needs to be held publically in a group setting to protect against wrong behavior.

One major thing I’ve learned and picked up along the way with couples is to not keep anything from each other, i.e. share passwords to all online logins and allow each other to see text messaging and emails to avoid being led down the wrong path. Also, another smart way to handle things is this: Never say or do anything with other people that you would not say or do with your spouse/boyfriend/girlfriend.

You can search the Internet for articles relating to relationship boundaries and find oodles of information that would help create great boundaries and protect your relationship. This is simply one outlet I’ve come across that is pretty spot on with its advice.

In my own marriage we’ve come across situations where boundaries have been in question. It is very important that both of you are on the same page about boundaries. If one of you is more loose with your idea of boundaries than the other, things happen that cause the other to be upset. It is important to sit down and discuss your idea of boundaries. Reign it in so that you are both in agreement. If not, you will be at odds with each other that will cause strife and resentment. That is trouble in and of itself. It is best to not go there. Take it from experience.

There are books on the market that discuss boundaries as well. I bought one some years ago. I read through it making notes as I went along. I shared with my husband my findings. He seemed like he was on the same page, but also at the same time seemed uninterested. I let it go because I did not want to upset him causing him to be resentful toward me about pressing the issue.

Years later. Which was several months ago. I began a life transformation. After starting, I felt the urge and importance to bring up boundaries again. So, on a couple of occasions I shared articles and videos, also mentioning it in conversation. He agreed with me this time. Our relationship has grown mightily since my journey of transformation began.

So, communicate with each other. If you don’t know what to say… seek counsel from your pastor, mature married couples with good marriages and find a mentor if needed. The important thing is to be pro-active.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly YWHW, I lift up marriages to YOU today. I pray that everyone who stops in to read this post will be blessed and encouraged. I pray for marriages today to seek YOU and draw closer to YOU allowing YOU to work in and through their lives. I pray that we will set healthy boundaries to protect our marriages. In the Messiah’s name, amen.

