Difference Image

Image by Betsy Weber

Day 6 of 7 in the Blog Challenge. I’m actually one day behind because of some training I went through that took up two whole days.

Day 6’s prompt: What difference do you want to make?

I’m thinking back to the 1st day’s writing prompt: “What really makes me angry about the world?”

My passion and motivation stems from that vein. Why do people bully? I think the root of bullying is fear. I’ve come to appreciate the acronym: False Evidence Appearing Real.

Many people have bought into lies that have been fed to them. We all learn behaviors, attitudes and mindsets from the environment we’re in. You’ve heard the expression: “Bad company corrupts good character”? We become who we associate with. Well, children don’t have much choice, do they? They say you can’t choose your family, but you can choose your friends. Even that is hard with the young. Parents have a say in who, when, and where children can be.

I remember when I was growing up. I had very strict parents, in every sense of the word. It wasn’t until I was a teenager that I came to understand that I could choose for myself. I started hanging out with friends in my church youth group as much as possible. By then, however, perceptions and mindsets had already taken seed.

The Maaref Foundation says this:

The first three years of the child’s life play a very crucial role in the metamorphosis of its personality and character.

We’ve seen videos of toddlers acting out and impersonating what they see and hear.

My passion is to be able to facilitate mindset transformation through mindset coaching, bodywork, and fine art therapy.

People love music. I’ve seen and heard people respond to music/imagery, arts of all kinds, etc when they wouldn’t respond to anything else. Take me for instance.

When my husband plays the type of music he likes, that inspires/motivates him, it has the opposite effect on me. When I hear any kind of rap music it puts me into a mental rage where I feel like I want to beat somebody up. Or, when he plays techno/electronica I feel like someone is drilling a hole into my head and sucking my brain out. Most times he has to put his headphones/ear buds on and listen that way. The type of music that inspires and motivates me is this:

I also like and listen to contemporary/gospel Christian Music.

What do you do to make a difference in the world around you? Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

