This image provided by: Randy Chiu

There! I said it.

Yes, I get mentally paralyzed at times. I get stuck in the miry muck of life. Not literally, but figuratively. I get all caught up  in what others think of me. I get all caught up in my ability to produce quality in whatever I do, from writing to visual arts. Not so much today as yesteryear. But, on occasion, it happens now.

I didn’t believe there was a way out for a long time. I thought that it was just the way life was going to be forever. I accepted it. I led a life of being in a rut. I got up in the morning. I ate. I perused the internet. I would read articles, sometimes books. I would do my personal care. I would do chores around the house. I didn’t care whether I got any communication from anyone, eMail, snail mail, instant messages, etc. My life simply had no real meaning.

There’s nothing like shaking things up a bit. One day I got up for my regular boring life routine and my husband told me I needed to focus on myself and grow personally. He felt strange and it made me feel strange. I was all confused. It came out of left field. I was like “What?” That whole situation rattled my cage. It felt as if he were telling me to get my act together or he was leaving me. Mental Shock. My mind started racing as if life itself were coming to an end.

What did I do you wonder? Well, this is what I did:

  1. I went online and did a google search for personal development websites to see what was available.
  2. I found one in particular [I won’t mention here because there’s a bounteous amount of sites one can pull up, this one just happened to be what I personally needed.] that shook me to the core. It was brutally honest. It gave very detailed instructions on how to change my inner voice and kill the negative feedback loop and start to train my brain on new neuro-pathways to create a new positive feedback loop.
  3. In that it also suggested what to do to create the new positive feedback loop. I began a journey that would make me a better person all around.
  4. One major passion I have is photography. My husband bought me a camera for Christmas this past year. After moving to SoCal I struggled on what to do. The camera gave me new life in my creativity. I started creating digital drawings/paintings and making photo art.
  5. I basically reinvented myself. This entire year I’ve been taking free online courses to build my photography knowledge and business prowess. This year has seen massive growth in me.
  6. Just last month I began a digital ministry to encourage, inspire, and support (mostly) women, but, in part of it there are men being encouraged as well. If you’d like to be part of it let me know. I’ll share with you how you can be involved.

That’s just the tip of the iceberg. I came across this funny image online that someone posted. It stated: “I am currently unsupervised. I know, it freaks me out too. But, the possibilities are endless.” It’s very true. The sky’s the limit.

Are you stuck? If so, why, there are ways to get unstuck, be productive and happy. If not, how did you get unstuck? Please comment, let’s chat.

