mentorWhat’s a role model?

The definition of a role model is:
– a person whose behavior, example, or success is or can be emulated by others, especially by younger people.

So, I was asked these questions:

 

  1. Who is your role model?
    • Personal, professional or someone you don’t know personally.
  2. How did you find them?
  3. What do you get from them?

I’d say over time I re-evaluated who I thought was my role model to who I count as my role model today.

First, I do have different role models. My personal role model is someone close to me that I look up to. I’m a believer of Jesus Christ as my personal Savior. That being said, I have a spiritual role model. That would be my pastor. Spiritually speaking I have to think of God from the Holy Bible. I live daily striving to be the best Godly person I can be. Speaking in human presence my pastor is a great mentor/role model in this. I met my pastor via a motorcycle ministry I am involved in when myself and my husband were invited to attend services where he preaches. Second, professionally, I look up to a few people: one being a travel photographer I’ve never met in person. I have interacted with him via social media. His name is Trey Ratcliff. The second is an art painter: Ann Rea. She is also an art coach and teacher. I’ve never met her. I encountered her via online classes I have taken. In fact, she’s doing a class online the rest of this month and next. In one of her classes Scott Dinsmore will visit and talk. Scott is another person I look up to. I just recently encountered him online. I’m still learning about him. I discovered him on TED Talk. Then, I signed up for the Live Your Legend challenges as well as the Facebook group. That’s where this post transpired from.

The Internet has become a massive tool in connecting people and for learning new stuff. The possibilities are endless!! That’s my new motto.

The thing I get from these people is empowerment. It’s very freeing to find out that I can do anything I put my mind to. What others think of me is none of my business. Whatever they think, it’s just their opinion. Their thoughts are not a reflection on me. Their thoughts of me are more of a reflection of who they are.

We all have a role model(s). Who’s yours and why? Let’s chat. Leave me a comment below.

