I am my own worst enemy. I bet you are too. Human nature tends to set these limits on everything. What I can and can not do in the way of rules. We bind ourselves.

We create self-limiting beliefs through this conditional filter. With this filter we start hearing and seeing everything others say to us. We believe that we need the approval of people to make us successful at whatever we’re trying to be successful at, whether it’s just life, career, parenting, spousal duties, etc.

We need to remove the filters and see life for what it truly is. Unrestrained, boundless, limitless. We need to give ourselves permission to mess up. It’s OK. The one thing I’ve learned is this: when we make efforts to do anything, that’s a success. Even if it’s simply getting out of bed, getting dressed and showing up in your day. I’ve been there. This is part of my journey.

I’ve struggled with self-acceptance all my life. I had all these people and things around me that were filters binding me and telling me I was worthless and wouldn’t ever amount to anything. Within the past five years I’ve begun a new journey of self discovery. I’ve been learning to drop those old filters and self-limiting beliefs. It’s layers of old paint that need to be peeled off and get to the base surface. I’m finding out that the base surface is more beautiful than all those layers that have been stuck on. It’s like wood… we refurbish old wood furniture. Once we’ve removed all that old varnish, paint and other stuff, we come to find out the natural wood is more beautiful than all the layers put on it. Another visual aid for me is this: I’m a motorcyclist. I discovered amber-colored visors. I have vision issues. When I very first experienced an amber visor I was totally amazed at how it enhanced and improved my vision. It revealed things I’d never been able to see.

When we change the way we see things we’ll be amazed and astounded at everything we’ve been missing. It opens a whole new perspective on life. I stopped taking things so personal and not internalizing things people said to me.

Everyone is going through their own personal journey. I learned that when people say or do things, it’s out of their own pain and suffering. They’re not directing it at me. They’re venting from themselves and their struggles. That doesn’t mean that it’s my fault. Because it’s not.

So, linked below is a blog post by Leo Babauta. I find that my thinking aligns with a lot of what he says.

Unconditional Acceptance of Yourself : zen habits

I’m learning to be more self-accepting. I’m learning to drop filters that are lies. It’s hard work. It’s totally worth it though.

