Happy Friday everyone! Come join us for Five Minute Friday and just write for 5 minutes on a word prompt. Click image to see the host’s post.

Today’s word prompt is: Listen!

Go!

I’ve noticed, as a society, we don’t really listen when we’re in a conversation with anyone. What I’ve noticed is that we’re too busy thinking and formulating a response to something we did catch in what they said. The response is almost more like in defense of something we didn’t agree with. That’s how arguments flow. We’re too busy wanting to make our point and “be right” about our point.

It’s not good to be this way. It’s selfish of me to think and feel that I’m more important and that only my points matter.

I need to listen, really listen, to what is being said by the other conversation outside my head before formulating a response. Because, what’s being said probably doesn’t really have anything to do with me. It’s mostly about the other person’s struggles. They just need a shoulder to lean on the majority of the time. They may need comforting. They may need to hear someone else’s perspective. But, before that happens I need to really hear and listen to what’s being said. Leave myself out of the conversation.

Jesus was a good listener! He let the disciples speak and He heard them. Then, he made a lesson out of it to teach them. It’s all over the Gospels, Matthew, Mark, Luke, John! What can we take away from this?

STOP!

To finish my thought on this, what can we take away from this?

It’s not about me.

There’s a whole nother lesson to be learned here about reading The Word. Many people say they’re not hearing from Yahweh. But, think about this: If I’m not opening The Word and reading it, I’m not going to hear from Yahweh. His Word is alive and active. He speaks to me through His Word. All I need to do is read,listen, and wait for it. Boom! There it is! [Yes, I know my goofy phrases are from the 80’s/90’s. I use them because I like them.]

