day-22-off
Today is CAPS LOCK day on the calendar of days to celebrate! I’m not a fan of caps lock.

I’ll tell you why. You know when you send a text message or email message and the person replies and the entire thing is on caps lock?

To me, it’s just a block of letters without any meaning.

Let’s look into this a little bit. Join me.

  • Typing in all caps is Internet code for shouting, and it is rude.
    • Using CAPITAL LETTERS makes words look “louder”.
  • Repeated use of all caps can be considered “shouting” or irritating.
    • Its equivalence to shouting traces back to 1984 and traces back to printed typography usage of all capitals to mean shouting.
  • WHY DOES TYPING IN ALL CAPS MAKE PEOPLE ANGRY?
    • I HAVE POOR VISION. IT HELPS ME READ. WOULD YOU TELL A BLIND MAN “DON’T USE A CANE” OR A CRIPPLED PERSON “DON’T USE A WHEEL-CHAIR?”
    • It’s a sensible convention we’ve all come to accept. Just as with oral speaking, if ALL WORDS are emphasized, it comes across as yelling.

If you would like to investigate further click on the links provided and read through those.

On occasion, I use ALL CAPS to put emphasis on something. However, I do not use it for an entire text body.

In the third bullet point at the link provided one answer given suggests an option for those who have vision challenges. In today’s technology, we can use a configuration in the settings that allow those of us who are visually challenged, like me, to be able to read with ease. I’m legally blind in one eye. I also have general vision issues, though. I go into my browser settings and configure the font to a size that I am able to read.

How does CAPS LOCK – ALL CAPS affect you? Please comment and let me know.

