John 8_31-32

Today is day 2 of my 21 Day Adventure with Suzie Eller – We Fall Short.

Remember in day 1 I mentioned I don’t feel like doing stuff that needs to be done?? That is where we’ll focus today. If you haven’t yet, read Suzie’s post to get a clearer picture from her perspective. If not, that’s fine too. I think you’ll get the idea.

I grappled with a couple of pieces of scripture. I couldn’t decide which of the two I wanted to use as a scripture image for this post today. So, the one you see above won out. Why? Well, because it’s the end results of being a believer. Knowing and believing the truth. Do you?

Let’s go deeper.

Let’s face it. We all have pits we dive into. Like Suzie mentioned in her post:

“I dropped, leaped, and slam dunked into a pit of thanklessness.”

Suzie also mentioned something about even using a pit like a bunker. I can attest to that.

What do I mean by “a pit”?

Let’s talk about that for a minute.

Pits are places that are our go to place in times when we’re afraid; afraid of anything. In this adventure, we’re talking about thankfulness. So, for the sake of following along, we’ll say a pit is what’s opposite to thankfulness, which is ungratefulness and fear.

I’ll share something from my life for example:

I make things all about me. Everything we do, from trips we take to moving to new homes is traumatic for me. So, for example, in 2013 we moved two states away. I had to give up everything I had and was doing. In essence, starting over and reinventing myself for the 3rd time in my life. Mentally, I struggled with these things. In doing so, it affected not only me but, everyone around me. Mostly my husband. The fear of the unknown is my pit. I move in and make camp.

The pit is condemning and harsh, but it’s a safe place, sort of. Read more below about what happens.

What happens when we fear something? Immediately, we react and think we need to go to our safe place; the pit. What happens while we’re in the pit is where the negative happens. We tend to nurture our fears instead of confronting them and working them out.

Suzie lists some common signs of ungratefulness on her post while we’re in our pit. I’ll share them here too.

Common signs of unthankfulness:

  • Comparison
  • Jealousy or covetousness
  • Always wanting more; discontentment
  • Taking for granted what we have; unwilling to share; discounting the value of what we have
  • Taking for granted who we have — put things above them in priority; treating them poorly; making promises we don’t keep
  • Unkindness, rudeness, impatience
  • Apathy; unable to see that others have less
  • Self-focused; it all revolves around you, your feelings, your needs, your right-now wants
  • Complaining
  • Critical of self or others

Jesus doesn’t condemn us. He frees us. Here’s what Paul tells us in Romans 8

There is no condemnation now for those who live in union with Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit, which brings us life in union with Christ Jesus, has set me free from the law of sin and death. Romans 8:1-2

Truths that lends us the ladder to climb out of our pit:

From Suzie’s post –

  1. There’s no condemnation
  2. The power of the life-giving Spirit has already freed us

There’s nothing wrong with falling. It’s what we do with it that can be good or bad.

The Holy Spirit has already set us free. Do not fall back into prison/the pit with unthankfulness behavior. There is transformation and freedom. Take them. Live a life of freedom and transform your heart in thankfulness.

Yahweh delights in us lifting our pit to Him. He’s waiting for us to accept the gift of freedom. We have victory. Praise Him!

This is where the pit turns into a promise!

Speak the truth to ourselves!

Suzie poses these questions:

Q: What is your pit? That one thing you hate, but it’s instinctive. It’s your go-to.

Q: “Our greatest heart work begins where we are the least thankful.” What is your response to this quote?

My responses:

My pit is: The fear of the unknown. Waiting for things to be known. Being in the dark isn’t a good feeling.

My response to being least thankful is this: I don’t like to be ungrateful. But, I am at times. My vice of unthankfulness is this… when I feel imposed upon and put into a position of not knowing what’s coming next. As the expression goes, waiting for the other shoe to drop. I find it hard to be thankful in that experience.

Now, it’s your turn! Comment and let me know.

