Philippians 2_5-8 imageDo you know who the most selfless person in your sphere of influence is? If so, who? Think about that.

I know of a couple of people who are selfless, but not 100%. Only when it suits them. It’s kind of fake.

When we meet people who are 100% selfless, we’re drawn to them.

Sometimes selflessness isn’t natural to us. Maybe, hopelessness is? We live in a culture that promotes selfishness.

Suzie asks:

How do we develop selflessness in a selfie world, and why would we?

First, read the scripture image above. It says why we would be selfless.

We want to look like Yeshua (Jesus) to the world. We will, the more we are selfless.

It’s as plain as that.

Suzie quote: “We talk a lot about Jesus, but the world needs to see Jesus in us.”

Borrowed from Suzie:

Jesus emptied himself and he served. By doing so he changed the world forever. He served a demonically oppressed man, and chains were broken. He sought the lost lamb, and it was restored to the flock. He noticed a woman caught in sin, and she was restored.

In each of these, he wasn’t self-focused. He saw. He heard. He responded. The world stood back in awe. It was different. Faith had never looked like this.

Right now, our world, our children, our marriages, our churches, our faith desperately need Jesus in the lives of those who follow him.

And how?

Don’t do anything from selfish ambition or from a cheap desire to boast, but be humble toward one another, always considering others better than yourselves. And look out for one another’s interests, not just for your own. Philippians 2:3-4

It’s as plain as that!

We are loved by Yahweh. That’s all we need.

We are still who Yahweh made us to be. We have our personalities. Only with a twist because, the Holy Spirit resides in us. He influences us, when we allow Him to, in what we say and do.

“The king will answer them, ‘I can guarantee this truth: Whatever you did for one of my brothers or sisters, no matter how unimportant [they seemed], you did for me.’ Matthew 25:40

From Suzie:

Day #14 of Living a Life of Thank You

Let’s take a break and just chat today. I want to hear how you are doing.

Did you join the 24-hour “No Complaint” challenge? How did it go? I wrestled for awhile with what a “no complaint” day might look like, and finally settled into it. I like it. There were a couple of times when I started to say something, and felt a gentle check in my spirit.

Is God showing you something that you want to share?

We have only 7 more days in this journey. What are you asking God to do in our remaining time together?

Me: I did participate in the 24 hr “No Complaint” challenge. My experience was like Suzie’s above. Only, with some crankiness because weariness of prepping for moving, etc.

The only thing I can I can tell in what Yahweh is showing me is that I need to stop making everything about me. I didn’t realize I was until I started this devotional.

In this last 7 days of this journey I’m asking Yahweh to show me where I need to change and how to better be like Him to the world.

Your turn! Comment your responses. Let’s chat.

